Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Institute of Brewing and Distilling online technical event

August 19 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

$10

Lockdown Brewing – Practical Approaches to Minimising Risks to Beer Quality

The IBD are delighted to invite you to join us for our next online technical event featuring Dr Bill Simpson, Executive Director Cara Technology UK.

Dr Bill Simpson is a specialist in beer taste panel development and yeast supply to the global brewing industry. After almost a decade with Tennent’s brewery in Scotland, Bill joined the Brewing Research Foundation near London, where he spent almost ten years carrying out research into beer technology. Since establishing Cara Technology in 1995 he has consulted for more than 500 breweries in over 70 countries and has grown the company into a respected provider of technical services to breweries. He has published more than 120 technical papers, patents and book chapters in the area of brewing technology and is the inventor of stabilized beer flavour standards used to train thousands of professional beer tasters all over the world. Bill has been a member of the IBD for 39 years, and a Fellow of the Institute for 25 years.

The presentation will look at the practical approaches to minimising risks to beer quality when brewing under the start-stop conditions of lockdowns and will cover risks to flavour, appearance and wholesomeness, including micro issues.

 

Event details:

Date: Wednesday, 19 August 2020

Time: 6:00pm Australian Eastern Standard time (4:00pm Perth, 5:30pm Adelaide, 8:00pm Auckland. Please check your local time zone for other locations).

Duration: 60-80 minutes depending on Q&A activity

Fee: IBD member FREE, non-members $10.00

Places are limited so please register below ASAP.

 

Event Registration